Alan J. Freedman Award

Recipients of the Alan J. Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
  • Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
  • Marine representative
  • Member of a marine-focused media
  • Boat dealer
  • Marine distributor
  • Marine trade association staff person


View past recipients of this prestigious award.

1996: Thomas H. Lorenz, Sr., Lorenz & Jones, Inc.

Thomas H. Lorenz, Sr.

In presenting this year’s Freedman Award, Ken Garelick, then chairman of the Accessory Manufacturers Division recognized Tom Lorenz’s lifelong dedication and contributions to the industry through leadership of his successful Iowa-based family business, Lorenz & Jones, which distributes marine accessories throughout the Midwest.

Further, Garelick noted that “Tom has personally devoted a great deal of energy to support the distribution of marine accessories nationally, by being involved in the National Marine Distributors Association and other organizations endorsing recreational boating”.